Tennis Tournament Season

Hey all. I know everyone is into the USTA seasons, and that keeps you plenty busy, but here’s a list of coming tournaments that are not only for great causes (unless you hate dogs and love cancer and are glad children don’t have food to eat) would make for an ideal Green Machine field trip. If anyone is interested in any of these, hit me up at johncotey@gmail.com. Let’s put something together.

kissmyaceI think me and my beloved (Phuong, not Slats) will give the Kiss My Ace Cancer mixed doubles tournament March 6 in Tarpon Springs a try this year. We meant to last year, but didn’t, but it’s Tarpon Springs and you can make a full day of it. For info, call 727-934-6920.

The Tampa Palms Spring Classic is March 19-20, right down the road at our sister club. I played in this once, in 2014. It was not bad. Not a ton of matches to play that weekend, and me and J.R. got smoked in doubles, but it’s USTA-sanctioned so it will help your rating, for those trying to give it a boost. And it’s close.

I really wanna try the 24th annual Avila Charity Tennis Tournament on April 8-10, only because I saw a picture from the event once and the winners got big plates like at Wimbledon. I’m not saying I can win, but I’m not saying I can’t. And I like me some big plates. Call 813-968-6792 for more info.

Screen Shot 2015-09-06 at 7.05.40 PMDoggies! The Scramble Fore The Greyhounds event is April 23, and it’s golf in Largo on Friday followed by a party, and then tennis Saturday in HCC. Good cause, nice set up. Sign me up!

What better way to spend a weekend than hitting 150 bad golf shots one day, and then 150 bad tennis shots the next day?

(And yes, I know that’s not a greyhound in the picture, but he looks so much sadder than any greyhound picture I could find.)

The one tournament I have played every year of my long, illustrious 3-year tennis career is the 28th Annual Morningstar Tourney at Carrollwood Country Club April 29-May 1.

JR_Me_Morningstar2014I may be biased because I won the 3.5 doubles the last two years, but I love this event. I love Carrollwood CC. Every year we go we say we’re going to come back next year and rent one of the rooms overlooking the courts. My partner of the last two years is no longer around, so IF I DON’T HAVE ANYONE TO PLAY WITH FOR THIS EVENT I SWEAR TO GOD I WILL QUIT TENNIS AND SHUT THIS BLOG DOWN AND YOUR LIVES WILL ALL BE EMPTIER AS A RESULT. Consider this a warning. If you need more info, and YOU DO, call 813-935-0232, or email PReed@morningstartampa.org.

These will be perfect tune-up events for all the sectional events we plan on going to this year. Amirite?

 

 

 

 

About johncotey

John was a sportswriter and columnist for the St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times for 25 years, before being pushed from the Titantic, and hopes all of you non-subscribers are happy reading your free news on the internets while his journalism brethren suffer. Not that he's not bitter or anything. His real true joys, however, are his wife, kids and tennis, though not necessarily in that order. Unless his wife is reading this. Then DEFINITELY in that order.
This entry was posted in 3.5 Men, 6.5/7.5 Combo, 7.0 Mixed, The Ladies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tennis Tournament Season

  1. Andy Ritter says:

    Classic – these look like fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

